Composer, Lutenist and cellist


Bruno Speranza-Martagão is an erudite musician fascinated by and devoted to exploring the multiplicity of musical and artistic expressions. Composer, cellist and lutenist he was born in Nantes, France, in 1977. His grandmother and his great grandmother were amateur pianists who early on introduced him to the magical world of rhythm and sound. He began playing the piano at 7 and soon expanded his musical horizon venturing into the realm of the classical guitar still under his grandmother's guidance, who mastered this instrument as well. When he was a teenager, his artistic interests shifted to rock and jazz and he played the electric guitar in a band with friends. Later on, he dedicated himself to the classical guitar and was awarded the third prize at the National Guitar Competition Souza Lima in chamber music, in 2001, and, as soloist, the first prize at the Latin American Guitar Competition Rosa Mística, in 2004.

When he returned to France, he studied the cello and played many masterpieces of the symphonic repertoire such as works by J. Brahms, L. von Beethoven, W. A. Mozart, M. Ravel e V. Williams, in addition to performing chamber music parts. At the same time, he devoted himself to the lute, especially to the “vieux ton”-tuned lute. His conception of this instrument is referent to a modern lute that covers not only the ancient music period but the full historical spectrum. He has made transcriptions of pieces by J. Haydn, E. Grieg and M. Ravel for this instrument.

Since an early age he tried his hand at composition. His creative process highlights his originality. His system of sound reflections, most commonly Nature inspired, involves deconcretization. The pieces “Incandescences”, “Fragment”, “Mouvements et couleurs” and “Prélude et Strophe” are the experimental fruits of his musical sensibility. Two of his pieces, “Miniaturas para quinteto de sopro”, performed by Quinteto Villa-Lobos, and “Imprecisões musicais”, electronic music, were selected to be performed at the XVth and XVIth Biennial of Contemporary Brazilian Music, in 2003 and 2005, while he was still a composition student at UniRio. In his current creative phase, his compositions have become freer and less academic in style. J. S. Bach, H. Villa-Lobos, G. Ligeti, C. Gesualdo and F. de Magalhães are long-term sources of inspiration for him.

He graduated from the Federal University of the state of Rio de Janeiro-UniRio, in 2005, and obtained a Master's Degree in Composition at the Strasbourg Conservatory in 2011.

Whether composing, or conducting the Chorale d'Aubure or the Chorale Harmonie de Mulhouse, playing the cello or the lute, instruments that became the natural extension of his musicality, Bruno Speranza-Martagão always strives to celebrate the beauty and expressiveness of music.


Orchestral works

Constructions symphoniques

Instrumentation: Orchestra
Duration: 16'
Year: 2008

Impulsions et mouvements

Instrumentation: Concert band
Duration: 8'
Year: 2011
Commissioned by: Musicolonie


Instrumentation: Orchestra
Duration: 10'
Year: 2012

Chamber music

Miniaturas para quinteto de sopros

Instrumentation : Flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon
Duration: 10'
Year: 2003

Música para jardins

Instrumentation: 2 trompets, horn, trombone and tuba
Duration: 6'
Year: 2004

Duo de marimbas

Instrumentation: 2 marimbas
Duration: 5'
Year: 2007


Instrumentation: 2 trompets, horn, trombone, tuba and 3 percussionists
Duration: 8'
Year: 2011

Prélude et strophe pour flute et clarinette

Instrumentation: Flute and clarinet
Duration: 6'
Year: 2011


Instrumentation: 4 trompets
Duration: 4'
Year: 2012

Choral and vocal music


Instrumentation: 4 sopranos
Duration: 5'
Year: 2009
Text: Ciro de Morais Rego

Fragment pour ensemble et baryton

Instrumentation: Piano, violin, cello, vibraphone and baritone
Duration: 8'
Year: 2011
Text: Arthur Rimbaud


Instrumentation : Mixed choir
Duration: 8'
Year: 2013
Text: Bruno Speranza-Martagão

Solo Works

4 peças para violão

Instrumentation: Guitar solo
Duration: 6'
Year: 1998 rev. 2006


Instrumentation : Piano solo
Duration: 6'
Year: 2000 rev. 2002

3 pièces pour clavecin

Instrumentation: Harpsichord solo
Duration: 8'
Year : 2006

Mouvements et couleurs

Instrumentation: Guitar solo
Duration: 6'
Year: 2010
Dedicated to: Humberto Amorim


Instrumentation: Cello solo
Duration: 4'
Year: 2012

Pièce pour vibraphone

Instrumentation: Vibraphone solo
Duration: 6'
Year: 2012

Works with electronics

Imprecisões musicais

Instrumentation: Electroacoustic
Duration: 8'
Year: 2005

Fantaisie électronique

Instrumentation: Soprano and electronic
Duration: 8'
Year: 2005


Instrumentation: Electroacoustic
Duration: 26'
Year: 2012

Cosmogonie n°1

Instrumentation: Electroacoustic
Duration: 8'56
Year : 2012



Solo Cello

Première suite – Le Sieur DuBuisson (or. Solo Viol)
Suite en mi – Le Sieur DuBuisson (or. Solo Viol)
Suite en ré – Nicolas Hotman (or. Solo Viol)
Suite en sol mineur – Demachy (or. Solo Viol)
Suite en ré – Anonyme allemand XVI siècle (or. Solo Viol)
Adagio WK 187 – Karl Friedrich Abel (or. Solo Viol)
Andante WK 193 – Karl Friedrich Abel (or. Solo Viol)
Allegro WK 196 – Karl Friedrich Abel (or. Solo Viol)
Allegro WK 198 – Karl Friedrich Abel (or. Solo Viol)
Prélude WK 204 – Karl Friedrich Abel (or. Solo Viol)
Prélude WK 205 – Karl Friedrich Abel (or. Solo Viol)
Menuet WK 210 – Karl Friedrich Abel (or. Solo Viol)
Tom and Mistresse Fine – Tobias Hume (or. Solo Viol)
Good Again – Tobias Hume (or. Solo Viol)
Loves Farewell – Tobias Hume (or. Solo Viol)
A Careles Humor – Tobias Hume (or. Solo Viol)
Prelude – Tobias Hume (or. Solo Viol)
A Question – Tobias Hume (or. Solo Viol)
An Answer – Tobias Hume (or. Solo Viol)
My Hope Is Decayed – Tobias Hume (or. Solo Viol)
Now I Come – Tobias Hume (or. Solo Viol)

Solo Lute

Sonate in C Hbo XVI:7 – Joseph Haydn (or. Solo Piano – tr. 10 course Lute)

Guitar Quartet

Concerto for 2 mandolins RV532 – Antonio Vivaldi (or. 2 mandolins, orchestra and continuo)
String Sextet No. 1 in B flat major opus 18 – Johannes Brahms (or. 2 violins, 2 violas e 2 cellos)
Brandenburg concerto No. 3 BWV 1048 – Johann Sebastian Bach (or. 3 violins, 3 violas, 3 cellos and continuo)
Sextuor à cordes no 1 en si bémol majeur opus 18
Concerto Bradenbourgeois III (sol Majeur) BWV 1048 Ensemble orchestral: 3 violons, 3 altos, 3 violoncelles et la Basse continue